feature requests

Variant Debate..... (Comic Book Forums)

• Variant Debate.....

Author Discussion
  • Posted: August 19, 2018 7:51:04 pm
  • I have been collecting comics for more than 25 years and I hate the variant craze! Am I the only one who feels this way? I like it better when the value is tied to the story rather than a cover. What say the rest of you? Confused

Last edited August 19, 2018 7:51:24 pm
  • Posted: August 19, 2018 8:43:18 pm
  • There's actual stories inside these books?! Shocked

Haha, I hear you loud and clear. It's what the industry is based on now. The Campbell variant craze drives me up the wall. Why his variants are pulling as much as they do is beyond me. Dell'otto does amazing work and I can see why his covers are highly sought after and priced as such, but still blows my mind.

Taking a title away and the cover credits justifies a 300% increase for some reason. I remember the days of variants as incentives for major storylines, now we're saturated with variants. As long as it sells and people are dropping $800 on 1 book, because of a cover, it will never stop.

But hey, I'm a cover collector myself and that's only because I LOVE Turner's work. Amassed a huge collection and did so without spending insane prices on each one. I laugh at the prices I see nowadays...

Sensibly collecting 100% of a series is a thing of the past. Good luck staying afloat!
    Biggest Michael Turner cover collection on site (...and coast?).
  • Posted: August 19, 2018 9:21:07 pm
  • I get it but I think it hurts the overall integrity of the industry. I know, mighty dollar has its way. Either way I will always follow good writing.... and Captain America!
  • Posted: August 19, 2018 10:28:21 pm
  • XNOMADX said:
    I get it but I think it hurts the overall integrity of the industry. I know, mighty dollar has its way. Either way I will always follow good writing.... and Captain America!

What do you think of Ta-Nehisi Coates' run so far?