feature requests

new to comics need some advice (Comic Book Forums)

• new to comics need some advice

Author Discussion
  • Posted: October 9, 2013 12:00:10 pm
  • Hi im pretty new to comics I live in england and always wanted to collect comics when I was younger but never had the chance. Now I got that chance and was wondering what's worth collecting.
    Ideally I would like to collect from issue 1 so its got to be a newish comic so I dont have to buy loads to start from 1 and then catch up to current issue.
    I was thinking earth 2 or maybe the amazing xmen when it comes out in nov
    Any helo would be great thanks
    Jake
  • Posted: October 9, 2013 1:45:52 pm
  • Welcome to the realm Jake.

As you may or may not know, both Marvel and DC just re-booted most if not all there titles from issue #1 a few years ago so you won't have to go back that far.
    My suggestion is to buy or try what you may like that's on the shelf now and go from there.
    Also Image is putting out a lot of good stuff all the time that start at #1 and are usually just 4 - 6 issues long.
    Good luck.
    "Disliking everything is not the same thing as having an opinion"

• Posted: October 9, 2013 4:07:35 pm
  • Thats my prob there is so many to choose from haha
  • Posted: October 9, 2013 6:31:35 pm
  • Hey Jake welcome........
    My best advice is to pick your favorite hero and just pick a random issue of that character. Some heroes have many titles being published by different writers and artists. There may be a certain artwork you like or a certain writer and story you like which may be different than others. Biggest thing is to have fun with the hobby. Pretty soon you'll be addicted and want to collect everything anyway so start slow and prepare to want to buy everything you see LOL. If you need any advice on anything let me know, I'll be more than happy to help.
    John Owens
    "I'm looking to complete my collection of The Maxx from Image comics ( 1993-1998 )."