feature requests

Guardians of the Galaxy 1 (Comic Book Forums)

• Guardians of the Galaxy 1

Author Discussion
  • Posted: March 18, 2017 4:25:03 pm
  • It seems that the grading standards for modern comics are much harsher than their Golden, Silver, and Bronze Age counterparts. From a quick review of the Facebook pictures you linked to, I would be hard-pressed to grade yours above an 8.0 from my point of view. Although I've seen graded modern books with a similar creased corner as the one yours has at the back cover's upper left corner get a 9.0, the additional color-breaking spine stress lines and other general wear were not present on those books. However, I am not a professional grader so I could easily be off by a grade or more.

Last edited March 18, 2017 4:26:06 pm
  • Posted: March 19, 2017 11:37:29 am
  • The Bobarian said:
    It seems that the grading standards for modern comics are much harsher than their Golden, Silver, and Bronze Age counterparts.

And that's why the CGC grading system is flawed.
    "Disliking everything is not the same thing as having an opinion"

• Posted: March 20, 2017 1:55:27 pm
  • ^^ I agree. I've seen graded books that look nowhere near what is stated on the slab. If they hired me I would be just as harsh on GA, SA, and BA books. Laughing

I understand that there are a lot less copies of high grade older books but there should be some sort of consistency. A lot of them don't deserve the grade they received.
  • Posted: March 21, 2017 3:30:15 am