feature requests

I'm new to comics and need help. (Comic Book Forums)

• I'm new to comics and need help.

Author Discussion
  • Posted: May 28, 2015 3:12:33 pm
  • Hi, I'm new here. The gist of my story is that I'm seeing this girl and she has a brother who's really into superheroes and has really involved conversations with other people at my church. If I start seeing her, I'm going to be spending more time with him and his girlfriend as this girl is really close to him. I figured I might make an effort by reading a few comics. I've googled how to get into comics, and I've read a few free issues, but superhero comics seem to be one of the most intimidating and confusing things to try to get into. This guy seems to like Marvel in particular, so I've been trying to get into that.

Initially I was planning on choosing one hero or group to see if I like him/her/them, but I'm not 100% sure what I want to read so I am now thinking about reading some group/crossover series to see if I can get a feel for a bunch of superheroes and maybe see if one emerges as a favourite of mine that I want to follow. I was initially looking at checking out The Avengers comics, but apparently there is more than one Avengers series and I don't know where to start.

I decided to check out A Force #1 on a whim because it's a new series that just happened to start when I'm thinking of taking up comics and I was hoping it would be a good place to start, while maybe seeing if one or more super lady intrigues me(at this point I'm not married to a particular gender of Marvel superhero). I may have to read on because I was probably expecting too much from one issue, but it is a lot more confusing than I had hoped. If someone can explain that issue to me, maybe I'll have a better understanding of it.